Resolution Awards 2022 winners

Back to news

Family justice group Resolution has revealed the winners of the 2022 Resolution Awards that celebrates the contributions of family law professionals and their commitment to the Code of Practice.

Alongside the already established John Cornwell, YRes Rising Star and Working in Collaboration awards, two new categories were added to the line-up this year in the form of the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Champion and the Innovation Award.

The winners

YRes Rising Star Award Marc Etherington
Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Champion Nazia Rashid & Ruth Oyelakin
Innovation Champion The Carvalho Consultancy
Working in Collaboration Award Tamsin Caine
John Cornwell Award Denise Ingamells

Juliet Harvey, National Chair of Resolution and chair of the judging panel, said:

Each of our winners have demonstrated a thorough commitment to Resolution’s core values, enshrined in our Code of Practice, and are actively helping families by going that extra mile to resolve disputes in constructive and innovative ways.

I am so proud of the work that they – and indeed, all our members – are doing to improve outcomes for families.

My fellow judges and I have once again been bowled over by not just the quantity, but the quality of the award entries this year, so much so that we’re already looking at more new categories for next year.

The winners in detail

The YRes Rising Star Award, which recognises members with fewer than 10 years PQE who have demonstrated potential as a future leader in family justice, was won by Marc Etherington of Rayden Solicitors. The judges said that Marc is a passionate advocate of Resolution and a role model for implementing the Resolution Code in their practice and is also not afraid to highlight wellbeing issues, speaking candidly of their own experiences.

The EDI Champion Award, which recognises members or groups who have shown a commitment to diversity and inclusion, was won by Nazia Rashid and Ruth Oyelakin of Anthony Gold. The judges said Nazia and Ruth demonstrated a passion for EDI both inside and outside their firm. Setting up initiatives and becoming involved in others, Nazia and Ruth are advocates for all diversity. They are educators whose work benefits both clients and society as a whole.

The Innovation Champion, which recognises members who have introduced new ways of working that have benefited clients, firms or the wider family justice community, went to the Carvalho Consultancy. The judges said that the firm seeks to break down barriers and support the wellbeing of all family law professionals. With an innovative solution to a longstanding problem, the Code of Practice runs through all that they do providing support to professionals who in turn then offer better support to their clients.

The Working in Collaboration Award, which recognises members who have made a difference to families by working with other professionals, sharing expertise to help clients achieve the best solutions, was won by Tamsin Caine of Smart Financial. The judges said that Tamsin demonstrates a clear collaborative approach who works with others to adopt a team approach; using social media as a tool to draw on expertise from other disciplines to assist clients.

The John Cornwell Award, which is named after the founder of Resolution and which recognises a family professional who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of family law, was awarded to Denise Ingamells, the author of the Separated Parents Information Programme (SPIP). The judges agreed that SPIP has had a far-reaching impact on the way practitioners operate and their clients, having been delivered to over 160,000 people.

Alongside Juliet, the judging panel included: Andrew Watson (Chair of Resolution’s Standards Committee), Grant Cameron (Vice-Chair, Resolution), Jane Craig (Former National Chair, Resolution), Remhys Baker (Co-Chair, Resolution’s EDI Committee), and last year’s John Cornwell Award winner, Peter Jones.