Three Resolution members shortlisted for the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards 2018

Back to news

Three Resolution members have been shortlisted for the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards 2018Tony McGovernLesley Monkhouse and Philip Wilkins have all been named as finalists in the Family (including mediation) category.

After reading over 800 nominations, the LALY judges met in London earlier this week to make their selections for the 2018 awards.

Winners will be announced by Baroness Doreen Lawrence OBE at a ceremony taking place in central London on 17 July. We wish all the finalists the best of luck and congratulate them for making the shortlist.

Resolution is proud once again to sponsor the Family category of the awards. The Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards are organised on a not-for-profit basis by the Legal Aid Practitioners Group to celebrate the work of lawyers and advisers in this increasingly challenging field and are now in their 16th year.

LAPG director Carol Storer says:

‘The LALYs are known for celebrating those lawyers whose skills and commitment directly transform the lives of so many vulnerable people – and rightly so. However, this year, we also wanted to recognise those practice managers who do vital work behind the scenes so firms and agencies can stay afloat and keep providing a service to clients, and whose contribution is rarely publicly acknowledged. As one nomination said, “practice managers do not get cards or flowers from clients at the end of each success”.’

LAPG is the leading membership organisation for practitioners in the publicly-funded sector and provides a wide range of services and support.

For more information about the Awards, contact:

Carol Storer, LAPG Director: 020 7833 7431; 07432 104088;

Fiona Bawdon, LALY Co-ordinator: 07740 644474;